Wins & Losses (January 26-February 8)

If you follow me on social media, you know it’s been a WILD two weeks in our house. So here’s two weeks worth of Wins & Losses.

Wins

  • After many months of waiting, our son made his arrival Tuesday afternoon. Grant Mitchell Brasher was born on February 4, 2020 at 4:57pm. He weighed in at 8 pounds, 4 ounces, and was 20.75 inches long. Becca did a phenomenal job laboring and both are doing extremely well at home. We had EXCELLENT care at the hospital and highly recommend it if you’re in the middle Georgia area looking for labor & delivery. We are SO grateful to our family and friends that helped out while we were in the hospital and at home. My folks held the fort down with Rea and Dee while the in-laws stayed after to help us get situated at home. We’re now being loved on even more by our church family and we can’t tell you how blessed we are to be where we are.
  • My Sunday nights are spent with kids 1st-5th grade. We sing for most of the hour that we’re together, but I also spend time teaching them the New City Catechism that our entire church is doing on Sunday nights. After teaching several weeks on God’s law (not easy), it was time to talk about innate sin (also not easy). I’d been wondering if the kids were getting any of what I was saying until I got an answer I wasn’t expecting. I posed the question, “Why would God even create Adam and Eve when He knew they were going to sin?” One of my older kids piped up and said, “It was all a part of the plan.” She was alluding to what we had discussed earlier of how we can’t know God’s grace and mercy unless we had done something wrong. Since our entire creation is for the purpose of knowing God fully, we must know His grace and mercy. Therefore, we had to sin to know His grace and to know the love of Jesus. It was a special moment for me that I’ll never forget.
  • What a great Super Bowl we had last week! The Brashers didn’t go to a party this year, but enjoyed it from the comfort of our home. Since the Titans are in the AFC, we pulled for the Chiefs. I loved that the game was a real football game. No team ran away with the points and it was a neck-and-neck game the whole time. Demi Lovato CRUSHED the national anthem, too. Halftime was controversial (duh). But Becca and I enjoyed watching the many talents of Shakira. Say what you want about the performance; Shakira is a CRAZY talented musician and showed it that evening. I love the Super Bowl and how it’s one moment of the year where just about every American is in sync with one another.

Losses

  • One of the shake-your-head moments in the life of a worship pastor is when you program a song that you’re certain everyone knows, and then you’re faced with the reality that you may be the only one that knows it. I’ve known “Praise My Soul, the King of Heaven” for years. Both times now that I have programmed it, it falls on somewhat deaf ears. I have no idea how I’ve known it and no one else has. It’s a beautiful hymn that is not sung enough. I guess I’ll just hold on to that one until someone asks for it again.

Leave a comment